Girl On Top

London’s semi-final was hot, sweaty around the collars and bristling with excitement – and we’re not just talking about the judges! The event last Thursday night at east London’s C.A.M.P (City Arts & Music Project) witnessed an impressive turn out of industry and friends whom had all shown a united support for the second Next Girl DJ contest semi-final. The judges on the night were, alongside myself, DJ Sand (Moonday), PR consultant Clare Dover, Nick Sabine (Resident Advisor), DJ Anthea and Will Harold (Matter). The five contestants – Fabrizia, Ciara Kelleher, Anna Gram, Sam Red and Womso – pulled off a selection of impressive sets, all oozing with their unique flavour and style, but there could only be one winner, and that had to be Sam Red. She was able to tick all the boxes – great build of set, great tune selection, competent mixing and confident delivery. On announcement of the winner, she was more shocked out of everybody there, which made putting her through to the next round even more pleasurable. She shares with us how she is feeling about her recent DJ win.

How did you feel when you were announced as the winner?

I was in complete shock, a real mixture of emotions. I’m still trying to absorb it all now, it was an amazing experience. I didn’t expect to get to the semi-final, let alone to win it.

Did you feel confident with your set?

This was probably one of the most nerve-wracking things I have ever done! I enjoyed it and just tried to do my best. As for confidence I definitely have more faith in my abilities now than I did before the competition.

Who did you think was going to win?

To be honest I really didn’t know. It was great to be in the company of such talented female DJs, each with their own great qualities and style. I am just happy the judges thought I was worthy of the title.

Any ideas for your beach mix yet?

I haven’t really got my head around it yet!  I’m going to hunt around for some tracks and see what inspires me. The sunshine today is a good start too.

About this entry