Paris Was Burning

Well, not quite burning but what a great night it was! Last Thursday night was the first in the live finals for Next Girl DJ, held at the casual chic hot spot Les Disquaires in Bastille. The four finalists hit the decks/Serato/CDJs and pulled out their best disco-tech punches, each with their own style. And the girls did us proud, despite a few technical hitches. The judges on the night – alongside myself – were Sonja Moonear, Laetitia Katapult, DJ Sand, Eva-Marie Pinon from TSUGI magazine, all of whom took the job in hand with great aplomb, and it was an overwhelming decision that Solene Caillard aka Mamz’hell, is officially the first DJ through to the next round.

“It feels so good to be recognised by professionals in electronic music. I feel more and more motivated now to give my best in the next round – I’m already thinking about my beach mix – I’m really excited!”

Congratulations to Solene from all of us at Next Girl DJ. London finalists to be announced tomorrow!

About this entry