Qualifier Spotlight!

Yup, it’s that time again to pull out one of the Next Girl DJ qualifiers and shove them in the spotlight. This week we have Roxanne Roll from the UK, whose mix ‘Taxi To The Andromeda Spiral Galaxy’ caught our ears. Her track selection from Massive Attack to Yeasayer made a positive impression, so we decided to find out a bit more.

What makes your mix unique?

I don’t stick to genres and prefer to choose tracks based on the mood that they create. I like emotional dance music and I’m not afraid of guitars and vocals. I was going for a spacey/sexual sound with this mix, with varying degrees of intensity. I’ve combined some brilliant old disco tracks with new remixes. I love to make people dance to music they’ve never heard before.

If you could play back2back with anyone, who would you pick?

If I could choose anyone to DJ with then I would choose David Bowie. I’d just love to hear what diverse and unpredictable tunes he’d pull out. I would also love to play old blues records with Keith Richards. Now that would be fun!

What do your family think of you entering this contest?

They love that I DJ and it’s sort of their fault that I like music so much. I actually raided my Grandpa’s music collection recently. He keeps asking me excitedly if I’ve played any of it at a club yet. Not yet, but I’m not ruling it out.

What inspires you?

The Burning Man Festival in Nevada – artistically and socially it’s an incredibly inspiring place. The Secret Garden Party is the closest equivalent in the UK. It’s full of wonderfully mad people. Musically, I find that film soundtracks are often good inspiration as the score tells a story and creates drama.

What is the most embarrassing record in your collection?

‘Memories Of Steam’ (1970 LP) featuring the cream of the UK’s last running Steam Locomotives just before they were decommissioned.’ It’s a train spotter’s record – literally, with just the sound of Choo-Choo trains. I think it’s pretty awesome and I’m still trying to find a way to work it into a set.

Vote for her now!

About this entry